MATH 130 - Spring 2017
Calculus I

Professor: Erika L.C. King
Email:eking@hws.edu
Office: Lansing 304
Phone: (315) 781-3355
Home Page

Office Hours: M: 1:30-3:00pm, T: 1:00-2:30pm, W: 10:30-11:30am, Th: 4:00-5:15pm, and by appointment

Class: MWF 12:20-1:15pm in Eaton 110
Lab: Th 1:30-2:55pm in Gulick 206A

Course Syllabus
Course Homework Guidelines
Course Grade Scale

Math Intern, Chris Wilson's Office Hours in Lansing 310: Su 4:00-6:00pm and 7:00-10:00pm, M-Th 3:00-6:00pm and 7:00-10:00pm

WeBWorK Home Page for Our Class
WeBWorK Instructions and FAQs
WeBWorK Syntax and List of Functions


READING/EXAM WEEK: May 3 - May 9

Check out the Lab Key for the Week 14 Lab!

Review Session: Thursday, May 4th from 10:30am until 11:30am in Napier 201. Attendance optional. Come prepared with questions!

Office Hours:

Final Exam:

Have a great summer! Keep in touch!


WEEK 15: May 1 - May 2

Homework due Monday, May 1:


WEEK 14: April 24 - April 28

Homework due Monday, April 24:

Homework due Wednesday, April 26:

***Remember to bring a laptop or phone with you to lab on Thursday on which you can do your evaluations!***

Homework due Friday, April 28:


WEEK 13: April 17 - April 21

Remember that our third exam is Thursday, April 20th in lab. BEFORE looking at the review sheet I made, try making your own review sheet! The most helpful review sheets are usually the ones we make for ourselves, since the process of making it is a great review! After you are finished, check out the Review sheet here. The exam will cover sections 3.9, 3.10, 3.11 and 4.1-4.3, 4.6 and 4.7.

Since we have an exam this week, there will be NO Main Exercises assignment due on Friday!

Homework due Monday, April 17:

Homework due Wednesday, April 19:

Homework due Thursday, April 20:

Homework due Friday, April 21:


WEEK 12: April 10 - April 14

Homework due Monday, April 10:

EXAM BONUS (Due Wednesday, April 12 at the beginning of class):

Homework due Wednesday, April 12:

Homework due Friday, April 14:


WEEK 11: April 3 - April 7

Homework due Monday, April 3:

Homework due Wednesday, April 5:

Homework due Friday, April 7:


WEEK 10: March 27 - March 31

Homework due Monday, March 27:

Homework due Wednesday, March 29:

Homework due Friday, March 31:


WEEK 9: March 20 - March 24

Have a great spring break!!!

Remember that our second exam is Thursday, March 23rd in lab. Check out the Review sheet here. The exam will cover sections 2.5, 2.6, 3.1-3.5, 3.7 and 3.8.

Here is the Lab Key for the Week 6 Lab. We reviewed page 2 in class already. Be sure to read the rest to make sure the material makes sense and let me know if you have any questions. Also note the level of detail that is necessary for complete solutions.

Since we have an exam this week, there will be NO Main Exercises assignment due on Friday!

Homework due Monday, March 20:

Homework due Wednesday, March 22:

Due to a departmental interview, my office hours Thursday will start 15 minutes later and will be 4:15 - 5:15.

Homework due Thursday, March 23:

Homework due Friday, March 24:


WEEK 8: March 6 - March 10

Homework due Monday, March 6:

Homework due Wednesday, March 8:

On Thursday, March 9th at 4:45pm in Napier 201, there will be a colloquium given by Yu Cai, Taylor Mancini and Zhaoyi Ren, about their trip to the Nebraska Conference for Undergraduate Women in Mathematics. Refreshments will be served at 4:30pm. I hope you can make it!

Due to the colloquium on Thursday, March 9, my office hours will be moved to 3:30-4:30 on Thursday of this week!

Homework due Friday, March 10:


WEEK 7: February 27 - March 3

Homework due Monday, February 27:

Homework due Wednesday, March 1:

Homework due Friday, March 3:


WEEK 6: February 20 - February 24

Homework due Monday, February 20:

On Thursday, February 23rd at 4:45pm in Napier 201, there will be a colloquium given by Mark Curiel, Hobart class of 2017, mathematics and music major, and Jacque Kane, William Smith class of 2018, mathematics and computer science major, about their work researching graph theory with me last summer. Refreshments will be served at 4:30pm. I hope you can make it!

Homework due Wednesday, February 22:

Due to the colloquium on Thursday, February 23, my office hours will be moved to 3:30-4:30 on Thursday of this week!

Homework due Friday, February 24:


WEEK 5: February 13 - February 17

Remember that our first exam is Thursday, February 16th in lab. I will post a review sheet on Monday. The exam will cover sections 1.1-1.4, 2.1-2.5 and 2.7.

Here is the Lab Key for the Week 3 Lab. Be sure to read it to make sure the material makes sense and let me know if you have any questions. Also note the level of detail that is necessary for complete solutions.

I need to visit another faculty member's class on Monday during my normal office hours. Thus my office hours Monday will be 3:00-4:00pm. If you would like to see me and cannot make that time, please make an appointment.

Homework due Monday, February 13:

Since we have an exam this week, there will be NO Main Exercises assignment due on Friday!

Homework due Wednesday, February 15:

Homework due Thursday, February 16:

Homework due Friday, February 17:


WEEK 4: February 6 - February 10

Homework due Monday, February 6:

Here is the Lab Key for the Week 2 Lab. Be sure to read it to make sure the material makes sense and let me know if you have any questions. Also note the level of detail that is necessary for complete solutions.

Due to a doctor's appointment, my office hours on Tuesday, February 7th will be moved. They will be Noon-1:15. If you would like to see me and cannot make that time, please make an appointment.

Homework due Wednesday, February 8:

Homework due Friday, February 10:


WEEK 3: January 30 - February 3

Homework due Monday, January 30:

The Week 1 Lab Key has been taken off line now. If you have questions about it, please send me an email.

Last chance to bring me your picture if you forgot to bring it to your appointment! Be sure to bring it to class or office hours to increase your grade on the Homework 0!

Homework due Wednesday, February 1:

Homework due Friday, February 3:


WEEK 2: January 23-27

Homework due Monday, January 23:

Note that due to introductory appointments with you all, some of my open office hours are shortened this week. The revised hours for Tuesday are 1:00-2:10. If you cannot make that time and need to see me, please make an appointment.

Homework due Wednesday, January 25:

If you haven't had your small-group appointment with me, be sure to make it ASAP. Also, if you forgot to bring me your picture at your appointment, be sure to bring it to class or office hours to increase your grade on Homework 0.

Homework due Friday, January 27:


WEEK 1: January 17-20

Welcome to Calculus I!!!

Homework due Thursday, January 19:

Although I will not normally assign homework to be due on non-class days, this week we will need to in order to get started and refresh our memories. Please complete the following:

Homework due Friday, January 20:



Hobart and William Smith Colleges: Department of Mathematics and Computer Science
Erika L.C. King