MATH 131 - Fall 2018
Calculus II

Professor: Erika L.C. King
Email: eking@hws.edu
Office: Lansing 304
Phone: (315) 781-3355
Home Page

Class: MWF 10:10-11:05am in Eaton 110
Lab: Th 11:55am-1:20pm in Gulick 2000

Office Hours: M: 11:15am-12:15pm, W: 3:00-4:30pm, Th: 2:15-3:45pm, F: 3:00-4:00pm, and by appointment
Math Intern Hours with Drew Scammell in Lansing 310: Su: 4:00-6:00pm and 7:00-10:00pm; M-Th 3:00-6:00pm and 7:00-10:00pm

Course Syllabus
Course Homework Guidelines
Course Grade Scale

WeBWorK Home Page for Our Class
WeBWorK Instructions and FAQs
WeBWorK Syntax and List of Functions


WEEK 15: December 10 - December 14

Homework due Monday, December 10:


WEEK 14: December 3 - December 7

There will be a 20-30 minute quiz at the beginning of class on Monday, December 3rd covering sections 8.1-8.5 (Remember just the Ratio and Root Tests from Section 8.5 not the Comparison Tests). Be sure to be on time! Extra time will not be given to those arriving late! Remember that complete solutions involve full sentences!!!

Homework due Monday, December 3:

Lab Key: Would you like to check your answers and work on the Week 13 Lab? Would you like to see if you are skipping any steps when working through a question? Check out the key below! Note how solutions include full sentences!

Homework due Wednesday, December 5:

Homework due Thursday, December 6:

Homework due Friday, December 7:


WEEK 13: November 26 - November 30

Have a great Thanksgiving Break!!!

Due to needing to visit another professor's class, I must cancel my Monday office hours on November 26th. If you would like to meet with me before my Wednesday office hours, please email me and we will find another time to meet!

Homework due Monday, November 26:

Homework due Wednesday, November 28:

Homework due Friday, November 30:


WEEK 12: November 12 - November 16

Our third exam, covering sections 7.1-7.6 and 7.8, will be on Thursday, November 15th in Gulick 2000, our normal lab space.

Homework due Monday, November 12:

Lab Key: Would you like to check your answers and work on the Week 10 Lab? Would you like to see if you are skipping any steps when working through a question? Check out the key below!

Homework due Wednesday, November 14:

Lab Key: Would you like to check your answers and work on the Week 11 Lab? Would you like to see if you are skipping any steps when working through a question? Check out the key below!

Homework due Thursday, November 15:

Homework due Friday, November 16:


WEEK 11: November 5 - November 9

Homework due Monday, November 5:

Homework due Wednesday, November 7:

Lab Key: Would you like to check your answers and work on the Week 9 Lab? Would you like to see if you are skipping any steps when working through a question? Check out the key below!

Homework due Friday, November 9:


WEEK 10: October 29 - November 2

Homework due Monday, October 29:

Homework due Wednesday, October 31: Happy Halloween!!!:

Homework due Friday, November 2:


WEEK 9: October 22 - October 26

Homework due Monday, October 22:

Homework due Wednesday, October 24:

Homework due Friday, October 26:


WEEK 8: October 15 - October 19

Our second exam, covering sections 6.1-6.7, will be on Thursday, October 18th in Gulick 2000, our normal lab space.

Homework due Monday, October 15:

Lab Keys: Would you like to check your work on the Labs? Would you like to see if you are skipping any steps when working through a question? Check out these keys below!

Homework due Wednesday, October 17:

Homework due Thursday, October 18:

Homework due Friday, October 19:


WEEK 7: October 10 - October 12

Have a Great Fall Break!!!

Homework due Wednesday, October 10:

Homework due Friday, October 12:


WEEK 6: October 1 - October 5

Homework due Monday, October 1:

Homework due Wednesday, October 3:

Homework due Friday, October 5:


WEEK 5: September 24 - September 28

Homework due Monday, September 24:

Homework due Wednesday, September 26:

Homework due Friday, September 28:


WEEK 4: September 17 - September 21

Remember our first exam, covering sections 5.1-5.5, will be during lab on Thursday, September 2oth in Gulick 2000, our normal lab space.

Homework due Monday, September 17:

Lab and Review Keys: Would you like to check your work on the Calculus I Review Handout and on the Labs? Would you like to see if you are skipping any steps when working through a question? Check out these keys below!

Homework due Wednesday, September 19:

Homework due Thursday, September 20:

Homework due Friday, September 21:


WEEK 3: September 10 - September 14

Due to needing to visit another professor's class, I must cancel my Monday office hours. If you would like to meet with me before my Wednesday office hours, please email me and we will find another time to meet!

Homework due Monday, September 10:

Homework due Wednesday, September 12:

Homework due Friday, September 14:

Looking Ahead...

Homework due Monday, September 17:


WEEK 2: September 3 - September 7

Homework due Monday, September 3:

Homework due Wednesday, September 5:

Homework due Friday, September 7:

Looking Ahead...

Homework due Monday, September 10:


WEEK 1: August 27 - August 31

Welcome to Calculus II!!!

Homework due Tuesday, August 28:

Although I will not normally assign homework to be due on non-class days, this week we will need to in order to get started and refresh our memories. Please complete the following:

Homework due Wednesday, August 29:

Homework due Friday, August 31:



Hobart and William Smith Colleges: Department of Mathematics and Computer Science
Erika L.C. King