MATH 204 - Fall 2018
Linear Algebra

Professor: Erika L.C. King
Email: eking@hws.edu
Office: Lansing 304
Phone: (315) 781-3355
Home Page

Office Hours: M: 11:15am-12:15pm, W: 3:00-4:30pm, Th: 2:15-3:45pm, F: 3:00-4:00pm, and by appointment
Class Schedule: held MWF 1:55-2:50pm in Eaton 110
Course Syllabus

An online book for reviewing/learning about logic and proofs: Book of Proof by Richard Hammack
Proof Writing and Presentation Tips
Course Grade Scale

WeBWorK Home Page for Our Class
WeBWorK Instructions and FAQs
WeBWorK Syntax and List of Functions


READING/EXAM WEEK: December 12 - December 18

BONUS WeBWorK due Tuesday, December 11 at 8:00pm:

Reading and Practice Problems:

Review Session: Thursday, December 13th 10:30am-11:30am in Eaton 110. Bring questions!

Office Hours:

Final Exam: The final exam is on Monday, December 17th from 1:30PM until 4:30PM in Eaton 110 (our classroom).

HAVE A GREAT WINTER BREAK!!! KEEP IN TOUCH!!!


WEEK 15: December 10 - December 14

There will be no quiz on the last day of class! :-)

Collected Homework (Due Monday, December 10 at 1:55pm):

Homework for class Monday, December 10:


WEEK 14: December 3 - December 7

Quiz 9 will take place on Monday at the beginning of class. It will cover Sections 4.4, 4.5 and 4.6. Be prepared to state definitions and theorems, give examples with explanations, and complete short exercises.

There will be time in class on Friday to complete course evaluations. If you have a laptop or other device on which it is easy to type, it would be useful to bring it on Friday for this purpose. I may also have a few devices.

Homework for class Monday, December 3:

Homework for class Wednesday, December 5:

Homework for class Friday, December 7:

Our last collected homework assignment will be due on MONDAY!


WEEK 13: November 26 - November 30

Have a great Thanksgiving Break!!!

Since we had an exam in our last class, there will be NO quiz this week!

Due to needing to visit another professor's class, I must cancel my Monday office hours on November 26th. If you would like to meet with me before my Wednesday office hours, please email me and we will find another time to meet!

Homework for class Monday, November 26:

Homework for class Wednesday, November 28:

Collected Homework (Due Friday, November 30 at 1:55pm):

Homework for class Friday, November 30:


WEEK 12: November 12 - November 16

Quiz 8 will take place on Monday at the beginning of class. It will cover Sections 4.2 and 4.3. Be prepared to state definitions and theorems, give examples with explanations, and complete short exercises.

Homework for class Monday, November 12:

Homework for class Wednesday, November 14:

WeBWorK due Thursday, November 15 at 1:00pm:

Since we have an exam on Friday, there will be NO collected homework due on Friday!!!

Homework for class Friday, November 16:


WEEK 11: November 5 - November 9

Quiz 7 will take place on Monday at the beginning of class. It will cover Sections 4.1 and 4.2. Be prepared to state definitions and theorems, give examples with explanations, and complete short exercises.

Homework for class Monday, November 5:

Homework for class Wednesday, November 7:

BONUS ASSIGNMENT due Thursday, November 8 by 3:30pm:

You may earn up to 5 points back on your second exam. Please read this in detail if you wish to earn points! Here are the rules:

Collected Homework (Due Friday, November 9 at 1:55pm):

Homework for class Friday, November 9:


WEEK 10: October 29 - November 2

Quiz 6 will take place on Monday at the beginning of class. It will cover Section 3.2 and the beginning of 4.1. Be prepared to state definitions and theorems, give examples with explanations, and complete short exercises.

Homework for class Monday, October 29:

Homework for class Wednesday, October 31: Happy Halloween!!!:

Collected Homework (Due Friday, November 2 at 1:55pm):

Homework for class Friday, November 2:


WEEK 9: October 22 - October 26

Homework for class Monday, October 22:

Homework for class Wednesday, October 24:

Collected Homework (Due Friday, October 26 at 1:55pm):

Homework for class Friday, October 26:


WEEK 8: October 15 - October 19

Quiz 5 will take place on Monday at the beginning of class. It will cover Sections 2.1 and 2.2. Be prepared to state definitions and theorems, give examples with explanations, and complete short exercises.

Homework for class Monday, October 15:

BONUS ASSIGNMENT due Wednesday, October 17 at 1:55pm:

You may rewrite the proof of the second problem from the homework for Week 5 to win points toward your homework score. This is a chance to practice proof writing. Here are the rules:

Homework for class Wednesday, October 17:

Collected Homework (Due Friday, October 19 at 1:55pm):

Homework for class Friday, October 19:


WEEK 7: October 10 - October 12

Have a Great Fall Break!!!

Since we have fall break this week, we will NOT have a quiz this week!

Homework for class Wednesday, October 11:

Collected Homework (Due Friday, October 12 at 1:55pm):

Homework for class Friday, October 12:


WEEK 6: October 1 - October 5

Quiz 4 will take place on Monday at the beginning of class. It will cover Sections 1.8 and the beginning of 1.9. Be prepared to state definitions and theorems, give examples with explanations, and complete short exercises.

Homework for class Monday, October 1:

Homework due Wednesday, October 3:

Collected Homework (Due Friday, October 5 at 1:55pm):

Homework for class Friday, October 5:


WEEK 5: September 24 - September 28

Homework for class Monday, September 24:

Homework for class Wednesday, September 26:

Collected Homework (Due Friday, September 28 at 1:55pm):

Homework for class Friday, September 28:


WEEK 4: September 17 - September 21

Quiz 3 will take place on Monday at the beginning of class. It will cover Sections 1.4 and 1.5. Be prepared to state definitions and theorems, give examples with explanations, and complete short exercises.

Homework for class Monday, September 17:

Homework for class Wednesday, September 19:

Collected Homework (Due Friday, September 21 at 1:55pm):

Homework for class Friday, September 21:


WEEK 3: September 10 - September 14

Quiz 2 will take place on Monday at the beginning of class. It will cover Sections 1.2 and 1.3. Be prepared to state definitions and theorems, give examples with explanations, and complete short exercises.

Due to needing to visit another professor's class, I must cancel my Monday office hours. If you would like to meet with me before my Wednesday office hours, please email me and we will find another time to meet!

Homework for class Monday, September 10:

Homework for class Wednesday, September 12:

Collected Homework (Due Friday, September 14 at 1:55pm):

Homework for class Friday, September 14:


WEEK 2: September 3 - September 7

Quiz 1 will take place on Monday at the beginning of class. It will cover Sections 1.1 and 1.2. Be prepared to state definitions and theorems, give examples with explanations, and complete short exercises.

Homework for class Monday, September 3:

Homework for class Wednesday, September 5:

Collected Homework (Due Friday, September 7 at 1:55pm):

Homework for class Friday, September 7:


WEEK 1: August 27 - August 31

Welcome to Linear Algebra!!!

Homework due Tuesday, August 28:

Although I will not normally assign homework to be due on non-class days, this week we will need to in order to get started and refresh our memories. Please complete the following:

Homework for class Wednesday, August 29:

Collected Homework (Due Friday, August 31 at 1:55pm):

Homework for class Friday, August 31:



Hobart and William Smith Colleges: Department of Mathematics and Computer Science
Erika L.C. King