Joint Degree Program

          Mathematics and computer science students may be interested in the various 3 + 2 combined programs in engineering offered by the Colleges.

The Colleges have combined programs in engineering with the School of Engineering and Applied Science at Columbia University, the Rensselaer Polytechnic Institute, and the Thayer School of Engineering at Dartmouth College.

In general, for these programs, students spend three years at Hobart and William Smith, and then two years at the other institution. At the end of five years the student receives a B.A. or B.S. from the Colleges and a B.S. in engineering from the cooperating university.

The Dartmouth program is structured a little differently. A student may complete three years at Hobart and William Smith, followed by two years at Dartmouth. More typically, however, students spend the first two years at Hobart and William Smith, the third year (or part of it) at Dartmouth, senior year in Geneva, followed by the fifth and final year at Dartmouth. Upon completion, they receive two degrees, one from Hobart and William Smith and one from Dartmouth.

For more details on joint degree programs in engineering, consult Professor Donald Spector, Department of Physics.